Lifetime Membership

For those committed to CESS's mission to support the development of scholarship on Central Eurasia and interested in not having to renew membership annually, the CESS Board has established the option for members to hold CESS Lifetime Membership.

Lifetime Membership entails a one-time dues payment of US$2,000. You have the option to pay the full amount at one time, or to make three equal payments over the course of three years.

Lifetime Membership comes with all of the same benefits as Individual Membership.  Lifetime Membership, however, does not expire. Once your Lifetime Membership is paid in full, you will automatically receive an annual confirmation of your membership status. In response to this automatic message or at any point during the year, you may opt to update your contact information, and to take advantage of the discounted journal subscriptions or other benefits. To update your member information, go to "My Profile".

If you would like to apply for Lifetime Membership, please complete the Lifetime Membership Application Form. You will need to login in to the website to open the form (following the link above, you will be asked to login, if you aren't already, with links that you can follow to recover your password and username if needed).  You can pay by credit/debit card, check (in US dolars), electronic transfer (from a US checking account), or by invoice. The form provides instructions about how to pay, including the option of an installment plan if that makes payment easier for you.

If you would like more information about Lifetime Membership, please contact the current CESS President, or the CESS Administrative Coordinator at

CESS Lifetime Members

We are very appreciative of the commitment that the following Lifetime Members have made to CESS!

Dr. Henry Hale
George Washington University, USA

Dr. Scott Levi
Ohio State University, USA

Dr. Yuhui Li
Rowan University, USA

Dr. Marlène Laruelle
George Washington University, USA

Dr. James Millward
Georgetown University, USA

Dr. Douglas Northrop
University of Michigan, USA

Dr. John W. Olsen
University of Arizona, USA and Chinese Academy of Sciences, China

Dr. Madeleine Reeves
University of Manchester, UK

Dr. Edward Schatz
University of Toronto, Canada

Dr. John Schoeberlein
Nazarbayev University, Kazakhstan

Dr. Cynthia Werner
Texas A&M University, USA

Dr. Christopher Whitsel
North Dakota State University, USA